You are here: Home / News / LSU Students Receive 2019 Goldwater Scholarships

LSU Students Receive 2019 Goldwater Scholarships

BATON ROUGE — Three Louisiana State University students have been chosen as recipients of prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships. The premier award recognizes top-performing undergraduate students of STEM disciplines.

The three winners bring LSU’s total to 35 Goldwater recipients. For the 2019 competition, 443 institutions nominated 1,223 outstanding undergraduates. Sixty-two Scholars are mathematics and computer science majors, 360 are majoring in the natural sciences, and 74 are majoring in engineering. Goldwater Scholars are awarded one- and two-year $7,500 stipends to pursue undergraduate research in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering. 

“We congratulate Katie Davis, Jackson Green and Syed Akbar Zamin on being awarded the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship,” said LSU President F. King Alexander. “These three students join a long line of Goldwater scholars from LSU, and we can’t wait to see what else they will accomplish in their academic and research careers.”

According to the Goldwater Scholarship Foundation, this is the first time in its history the Foundation will be naming 496 Scholars in a single competition year. This became possible with support from Congress and in collaboration with the Department of Defense National Defense Education Program.

Katie Davis, of Frisco, Texas, is an Ogden Honors College junior Stamps Scholar studying wildlife ecology in the LSU College of Agriculture and Spanish in the LSU College of Humanities and Social Sciences. Under the direction of Dr. Sabrina Taylor, Davis is investigating an anecdotally reported range expansion and contraction of the species Bachman's Sparrow in the early 20thcentury and comparing it to studies of the Field Sparrow. This research may inform the habitat needs of Bachman's Sparrow, a near-threatened species, and contribute to a further understanding of how genetically based variation in personality relates to species distribution. After graduation, Davis plans to pursue a PhD in Conservation Biology. 

Jackson Green, of Monroe, Louisiana, is a sophomore studying Cell Biology in the LSU College of Science and is part of the Ogden Honors College. His research in Dr. Ryoichi Teruyama’s lab focuses on the study of oxytocin receptors and their expression in mouse retina, which have revealed a sexual dimorphism in the mice retina. After graduation, Green plans to pursue a combined MD/PhD in Behavioral Neuroscience. 

Syed Akbar Zamin, of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, is a junior studying Biological Engineering in the LSU College of Engineering. Under the leadership of Dr. Myungwoong Kim and Dr. Jangwook Jung, Zamin’s research focuses on the characterization of a new biomaterial of collagen-lignin. Lignin has the ability to modulate mechanical properties without creating the issues of cytotoxicity and immunogenicity. After graduation, Zamin plans to pursue a combined MD/PhD in Biomedical Engineering.


The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation  
Congress established the Barry Goldwater Scholarship in 1986 to honor Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years in the U.S. Senate. The scholarship was designed to alleviate a critical, current and future shortage of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers.


LSU Roger Hadfield Ogden Honors College 
The Ogden Honors College, established in 1992, is a vibrant, diverse and prestigious community located at the heart of LSU. The Ogden Honors College provides students with a curriculum of rigorous seminar classes, as well as opportunities for undergraduate research, culminating in the Honors Thesis. Its focus on community service, study abroad, internships and independent research helps today’s high-achieving students become tomorrow’s leaders.