You are here: Home / News / LSU Students Inducted into Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society

LSU Students Inducted into Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society

On Saturday, March 30, 2019, 20 LSU students were inducted into the Beta Chapter of Louisiana’s Phi Beta Kappa (PBK) Society. The ceremony was held in the Hans & Donna Sternberg Grand Salon of the Ogden Honors College French House. 

Dr. Drew Lamonica Arms, president of LSU’s chapter of PBK, gave opening remarks, followed by the history of PBK given by Dr. Gaines Foster. Vice President, Dr. Michael Pasquier, gave the address, drawing on Ralph Waldo Emerson’s famous 1837 speech “The American Scholar,” originally delivered to the Phi Beta Kappa Society of Harvard College. After the presentation of the candidates, Treasurer Dr. Shea Vela-Vick led the promise and the charge to the new members, and Secretary Dr. Janet McDonald welcomed the students to sign the official roll book.

The following students were initiated: Matthew Bertucci, William R. Boles III, Elizabeth Maria Bozner, Dominique Carr, Andrew Kaiser Chenevert, Winston James Duffour, Maria Enger, Logan B. Fontenot, Caitlin Huettemann, Matthew Aaron Koshak, Caroline Lawless, Meghan Anna Malone, Sara Elizabeth Pohlman, Taylor Prudhomme, Zachary Roubein, Andrew D. Searles, Hebah Shaikh, Staci Chyrene Shelby, Hailey Danielle Simpson, Madalynn Elizabeth Traylor.

Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society. For more than two centuries, it has advocated the ideas of liberal education as a basis for a lifelong love of learning and as a way to broaden the perspectives of students, whatever their chosen field of endeavor.


The LSU chapter was installed in 1977 as Beta of Louisiana. The chapter at LSU was made possible due to the hard work of many LSU faculty who were members of Phi Beta Kappa.


New members are elected by LSU faculty PBK members each year from among outstanding juniors, seniors, and fall graduates. LSU’s Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa also sponsors visiting lecturers as part of the Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars Program. For more information, please visit